Game World Environments

As I keep saying I’m new to all this digital illustration, character development and now my newest challenge. Environment design. I began by simply writing down characteristics of each scene from the story.  From there I would create a simple moodboard by finding photographs of places that would be similar to the desired environment I wanted to create. This made it easier in my minds eye to visualise the scene. From there I went into the clean canvas in photoshop started to develop the image using textures/brushes/various colours shading and tones.

Below is an example of a general view of the world of “Arcadia”. This is featured in the introductory scene where our main character is out hunting among the fields and forest close to the river. These are just simple screen shots of the development stages.

 

Screen Shot 2013-08-14 at 18.57.28 Screen Shot 2013-08-22 at 23.24.19 Screen Shot 2013-08-22 at 23.40.01 Screen Shot 2013-08-22 at 23.55.01

 

As I’m creating these more and more the process I’m following seems to suit my style the best. It also stops my brain from turning to mush trying to create the environments straight from my head.

Keep following our blog for more updates on the creation of Malevolence.

Next blog…. “Fight Scenes”

Until then, peace out!

Ruth-Ann

_______________

Team Malevolence

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by ruthanngrogan. Bookmark the permalink.

About ruthanngrogan

Me = Masters student in Creative Digital Media. Part time worker.Optimist. Kid sister. Music Lover. Spiritualist. Animal Lover. Girlfriend. Concert Goer. Mafia Movie Geek. Treky. Trubie. "A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history."Mohandas Gandhi. "My religion consists of a humble admiration of the illimitable superior spirit who reveals himself in the slight details we are able to perceive with our frail and feeble mind." Albert Einstein. "There is no need for temples, no need for complicated philosophies. My brain and my heart are my temples; my philosophy is kindness. " His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama.

Leave a Reply

